Monday, October 4, 2010

Boettcher Foundation Pres/Exec Director Tim Schultz Introduces 2010 Class of Boettcher Investigators to Bioscience Industry at CBSA Awards Dinner

Timothy W. Schultz, President and Executive Director of the Boettcher Foundation, introduced the new Webb Waring Biomedical Research program and the 2010 Boettcher Investigators to the Colorado Bioscience Community at the Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) Awards Dinner held September 29th during the 8th annual BioWest Conference & Expo.

There are six Boettcher Investigators in the inaugural 2010 class -- three from CU and one each from National Jewish Health, CSU and the Colorado School of Mines. Areas of focus include: chronic beryllium lung disease, translational bioinformatics, Parkinson's disease, Ewing Sarcoma, formation of blood clots and releasing materials for cardiovascular medical devices.

The 2010 Class of Boettcher Investigators in the Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Program includes the following:

• Shaodong Dai, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Immunology, National Jewish Health, Chronic Beryllium Lung Disease
• Robin Dowell, D.Sc., Assistant Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, University of Colorado at Boulder, Translational Bioinformatics Involving Drug Efficacy and Genetics
• Gidon Felsen, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Physiology and Biophysics, University of Colorado – Anschutz Medical Campus, Parkinson’s Disease
• Paul Jedlicka, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology, University of Colorado – Anschutz Medical Campus, Ewing Sarcoma, a Common Cancer of the Bone and Soft Tissue Affecting Children
• Keith Neeves, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, Colorado School of Mines, Role of Blood Flow in the Formation of Blood Clots
• Melissa Reynolds, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Colorado State University, Nitric-Oxide Releasing Materials for Cardiovascular Medical Devices

Link to video of remarks by Tim Shultz a the 2010 CBSA Awards Dinner:

No comments:

Post a Comment